Business and Management

Understanding the Stages of Endometriosis

An estimated 90 million women worldwide suffer from endometriosis during their lifetime. This condition affects 10 to 15 percent of women during childbirth. Women with this disease can develop a variety of symptoms such as pain, irregular cycles, infertility, and heavy periods.

If you experience any of these symptoms, call your doctor to schedule a thorough evaluation. The level of discomfort and illness rates varies from patient to patient. You can also visit this website to get information about the ways of coping with endometriosis.

Image Source: Google

Endometriosis usually requires surgery for an accurate diagnosis. Typically, doctors classify endometriosis into stages:

Stage 1

If you receive a Stage 1 diagnosis of endometriosis, a disease is present, but not yet developed. Doctors generally assign a score of 1 to 5 points, show very little tissue growth outside the uterus.

Stage 2

With Phase 2 endometriosis, patients typically receive a score of 6 to 15 points, and a level considered to be mild, with some areas of growth as well as some scarring or adhesions.

Stage 3

In Phase 3, the doctor considers moderate endometriosis, and scores of patients fall between 16 to 40 points. Patients in this stage are often present with symptoms associated with endometriosis.

Stage 4

Considered the most advanced stages of endometriosis, Stage 4 patients scored more than 40 points and showed a deep area of tissue growth and great adhesion. Stage 4 endometriosis often causes problems getting pregnant or carrying a pregnancy to term.